Alabama Divorce Waiting Period
There are several waiting periods that are involved with divorces in Alabama. There is a waiting period to get your divorce. There is a waiting period to get remarried. Alabama has a mandatory 30 day waiting period. It is commonly called the “cooling off period.” The judge is prohibited by law from signing a divorce before this 30 day period has passed. The 30 day period begins when the complaint for divorce is filed with the court.
Remarriage Waiting Period
Once your divorce is granting, you are not permitted to get remarried until it is been more than 60 since your divorce has been granted. However, this waiting period does not apply to you if you are remarrying the person you just divorce. There is an exception to this rule which appeals if a party appeals the divorce.
Appeal – Waiting Period
As mentioned above, if either party appeals the judgment of divorce within 42 of the divorce, you cannot remarry until the appeal is concluded.
Time Period to Get Divorce
With an uncontested divorce, it takes approximately 45 to 60 days to get your divorce once it is filed with the court. With a contested divorce, it takes anywhere from 6 moths to a year to get. It can take longer depending on the facts and circumstances of your case.
At the Monk Law Firm, I have over ten years of experience preparing divorces in Alabama. I have filed hundreds of uncontested divorces. Furthermore, I offer affordable uncontested divorce or no fault divorce. You will know what you have to pay up front.
As a divorce lawyer, I understand that sometimes problems don’t occur nine to five. Consequently, a lawyer is available on a limited basis to take your calls on the weekend and after hours. Please call the firm and leave a message and an attorney will call you back as soon as possible.